Gloria E. Anzaldúa and Gloria Steinem

My Favorite Feminists quotes from Gloria E. Anzaldúa and Gloria Steinem

Gloria E. AnzaldúaInterviews/Entrevistas one of my favorite feminists. If you’ve never read her work, shame on you. She led me to the water and I drank.

“Why am I compelled to write?… Because the world I create in the writing compensates for what the real world does not give me. By writing I put order in the world, give it a handle so I can grasp it. I write because life does not appease my appetites and anger… To become more intimate with myself and you. To discover myself, to preserve myself, to make myself, to achieve self-autonomy. To dispell the myths that I am a mad prophet or a poor suffering soul. To convince myself that I am worthy and that what I have to say is not a pile of shit… Finally, I write because I’m scared of writing, but I’m more scared of not writing.”

“Nobody’s going to save you. No one’s going to cut you down, cut the thorns thick around you. No one’s going to storm the castle walls nor kiss awake your birth, climb down your hair, nor mount you onto the white steed. There is no one who will feed the yearning. Face it. You will have to do, do it yourself.”

“I am an act of kneading, of uniting and joining that not only has produced both a creature of darkness and a creature of light, but also a creature that questions the definitions of light and dark and gives them new meanings.”

“Wild tongues can’t be tamed, they can only be cut out.”

“To survive the Borderlands you must live sin fronteras be a crossroads.”

“I am mad – but I choose this madness.”

“I can’t seem to stay out of my own way.”

“All reaction is limited by, and dependant on, what it is reacting against.”

“I want the freedom to carve and chisel my own face, to staunch the bleeding with ashes, to fashion my own gods out of my entrails…”

“A woman who writes has power, and a woman with power is feared.”

“Do work that matters. Vale la pena”

And another famous feminist: Gloria Steinem, has some of the best quotes on feminism I’ve ever read. She is iconic and this is why:

“Women have two choices. Either she’s a feminist or a masochist.”

“This is no simple reform. It really is a revolution. Sex and race because they are easy and visible differences have been the primary way of organizing human beings into superior and inferior groups and into the cheap labor on which this system still depends. We are talking about a society in which this system still depends. We are talking about a society in which there will be no roles other than those chosen or earned. We are really talking about humanism.”

“I have yet to hear a man ask for advice on how to combine marriage and a career.”

“The first problem for all of us, men and women, is not to learn, but to unlearn.”

“A feminist is anyone who recognizes the equality and full humanity of women and men.

“A liberated woman is one who has sex before marriage and a job after.”

“A woman without a man is like a fish without a bicycle.”

“Marriage works best for men than women. The two happiest groups are married men and unmarried women.”

“The truth will set you free, but first it will piss you off.”

“The future depends entirely on what each of us does every day. A movement is only people moving.”

“Like art, revolutions come from combining what exists into what has never existed before.”

“There are really not many jobs that actually require a penis or a vagina, and all other occupations should be open to everyone.”

“We’ve begun to raise our daughters more like sons…but few have the courage to raise our sons more like our daughters.”

“Without leaps of imagination or dreaming, we lose the excitement of possibilities. Dreaming, after all is a form of planning.”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

